Can you spare just 5 minutes of your day?

February 15, 2008 10:58 AM

Yesterday we blogged this story here about Bournemouth Council’s cabinet approving a salary deal that would see their pay skyrocket by 32%.  Within this pay package is a 36% increase for the Deputy Leader and a 34% increase for the Leader of the council, taking his salary to £36,000 a year!  These recommendations by the council’s ‘Independent’ Remuneration Panel were all passed by the Cabinet, without debate, this week.  Next week the Full Council votes on this remuneration package.  It’s up to us to lobby the council to reject this pay hike. 


If you’re living in Bournemouth, can you say that the quality of council services has gone up by 34%?  Of course not.  The Audit Commission report last week gave Bournemouth Council a mere 2 star rating.  To compare, the Audit Commission have 3 or 4 stars to 83% of all councils meaning Bournemouth Council has to justify this excessive pay rise for, what has been judged as, under performance.


Bournemouth’s taxpayers need your help.  Please take five minutes out of your day to send an email or call a Bournemouth Councillor to ask them to challenge and reject the councillor remuneration package at the next Full Council meeting on Thursday 21st February.


Below is a list of Bournemouth’s Councillors and their phone and email details.  Please call or email one, two or even all of them if you have the time and lobby them to reject the pay deal on Thursday.  If you can’t or don’t have the time to make these calls or send emails then please pass this blog onto other concerned taxpayers who want to do something about spiralling councillor salaries and high council tax.  The point is to urge these councillors to put taxpayer value-for-money first.  Politely ask the councillors to challenge the pay deal and to vote against it. 


Cllr Alexander Adams (Con) - 07968 123484 / alexander.adams@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Carol Ainge (Lib Dem) - carol.ainge@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Mark Anderson (Con) - 01202 775483 / mark.anderson@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Sue Anderson (Con) - 01202 397047 / sue.anderson@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Linda Bailey (Con) - linda.bailey@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Beryl Baxter (Labour) - Beryl.baxter@Bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr John Beesley (Con) - 07860 391219 / john.beesley@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Derek Borthwick (Independent) - derek.borthwick@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Robert Chapman (Con) - 01202 532778 /  robert.chapman@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Stephen Chappell (Con) - stephen.chappell@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Peter Charon (Con) - 07775556132 / 01202299996 / peter.charon@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Eddie Coope (Con) - eddie.coope@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Elaine Cooper (Con) - elaine.cooper@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Rod Cooper (Con) - rod.cooper@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Nigel Cowley (Con) - 07709 431241 / nigel.cowley@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Sue Cowley (Con) - 07709 431241 / sue.cowley@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Malcolm Davies (Con) - malcolm.davies@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Heather Drayton (Con) - heather.drayton@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Beverley Dunlop (Con) - 07855 395117 / beverley.dunlop@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Michael Everingham (Independent) - 0794 115 2242 / michael.everingham@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Anne Filer (Con) - 01202 399205 / anne.filer@bournemouth.gov.uk; mayor@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Michael Filer (Con) - michael.filer@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Barry Goldbart (Con) - 07734 211750 / barry.goldbart@bournemouth.gov.uk


Cllr Nicola Greene (Con) - 07961 936387 / nicola.greene@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Michael Griffiths (Con) - 07815 817222 / michael.griffiths@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Ben Grower (Labour) - 07714 344635 / ben.grower@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Paul Hughes (Con) - 07732 169122 / paul.hughes@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr David Kelsey (Con) - 07816 417675 / david.kelsey@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Nick King (Con) - 07771727402 / nick.king@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Ian Lancashire (Con) - ian.lancashire@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Robert Lawton (Con) - 07974 215933 / robert.lawton@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Sue Levell (Lib Dem) - Sue.Levell@Bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Pat Lewis (Lib Dem) - 07742 900717 / pat.lewis@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Stephen Macloughlin (Con) - 01202 513229 / stephen.macloughlin@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Jane Montrose (Con) - 07843 062222 / jane.montrose@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Andrew Morgan (Con) - andrew.morgan@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Ian Newport (Con) - 07971 602296 / ian.newport@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Lisa Northover (Lib Dem) - 07515355982 / lisa.northover@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Lynda Price (Con) - lynda.price@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Basil Ratcliffe (Con) - basil.ratcliffe@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Anne Rey (Independent) - 07973 814382 / anne.rey@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Christopher Rochester (Con) - christopher.rochester@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Allister Russell (Con) - allister.russell@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr David Shaw (Con) - 07951 511287 / david.shaw@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Claire Smith (Lib Dem) - Claire.smith@Bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr David Smith (Con) - 07832 186424 / david.smith@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Richard Smith (Lib Dem) - 0780 8227276 / richard.smith@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Philip Stanley-Watts (Con) - philip.stanley-watts@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Ted Taylor (Labour) - ted.taylor@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr John Trickett (Con) - 07910 011239 / john.trickett@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Christopher Wakefield (Con) - 07775 677162 / christopher.wakefield@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Michael Weinhonig (Con) - 07877 430667 / michael.weinhonig@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Roger West (Lib Dem) - roger.west@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Ronald Whittaker (Independent) - ronald.whittaker@bournemouth.gov.uk


This is a test of our grassroots campaigns.  If we make enough calls to Bournemouth’s councillors and show the strength of feeling against this incredibly high pay deal at the taxpayer’s expense, we can show other councils that we won’t tolerate unjust increases elsewhere.  Please take just 5 minutes to make that call or send that email that could make all the difference.  Do let us know how many calls you’ve made and blind copy me (tim.aker@taxpayersalliance.com) into the emails you send.  The activist who lobbies the most will get a free copy of ‘How to label a goat’ by Ross Clark as a way to thank you for your dedication. 


Finally, pass on this blog to anyone interested who might want to get involved in our grassroots campaign for lower taxes.  This is your campaign, it's time we made our voice heard! 

Yesterday we blogged this story here about Bournemouth Council’s cabinet approving a salary deal that would see their pay skyrocket by 32%.  Within this pay package is a 36% increase for the Deputy Leader and a 34% increase for the Leader of the council, taking his salary to £36,000 a year!  These recommendations by the council’s ‘Independent’ Remuneration Panel were all passed by the Cabinet, without debate, this week.  Next week the Full Council votes on this remuneration package.  It’s up to us to lobby the council to reject this pay hike. 


If you’re living in Bournemouth, can you say that the quality of council services has gone up by 34%?  Of course not.  The Audit Commission report last week gave Bournemouth Council a mere 2 star rating.  To compare, the Audit Commission have 3 or 4 stars to 83% of all councils meaning Bournemouth Council has to justify this excessive pay rise for, what has been judged as, under performance.


Bournemouth’s taxpayers need your help.  Please take five minutes out of your day to send an email or call a Bournemouth Councillor to ask them to challenge and reject the councillor remuneration package at the next Full Council meeting on Thursday 21st February.


Below is a list of Bournemouth’s Councillors and their phone and email details.  Please call or email one, two or even all of them if you have the time and lobby them to reject the pay deal on Thursday.  If you can’t or don’t have the time to make these calls or send emails then please pass this blog onto other concerned taxpayers who want to do something about spiralling councillor salaries and high council tax.  The point is to urge these councillors to put taxpayer value-for-money first.  Politely ask the councillors to challenge the pay deal and to vote against it. 


Cllr Alexander Adams (Con) - 07968 123484 / alexander.adams@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Carol Ainge (Lib Dem) - carol.ainge@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Mark Anderson (Con) - 01202 775483 / mark.anderson@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Sue Anderson (Con) - 01202 397047 / sue.anderson@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Linda Bailey (Con) - linda.bailey@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Beryl Baxter (Labour) - Beryl.baxter@Bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr John Beesley (Con) - 07860 391219 / john.beesley@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Derek Borthwick (Independent) - derek.borthwick@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Robert Chapman (Con) - 01202 532778 /  robert.chapman@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Stephen Chappell (Con) - stephen.chappell@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Peter Charon (Con) - 07775556132 / 01202299996 / peter.charon@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Eddie Coope (Con) - eddie.coope@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Elaine Cooper (Con) - elaine.cooper@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Rod Cooper (Con) - rod.cooper@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Nigel Cowley (Con) - 07709 431241 / nigel.cowley@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Sue Cowley (Con) - 07709 431241 / sue.cowley@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Malcolm Davies (Con) - malcolm.davies@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Heather Drayton (Con) - heather.drayton@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Beverley Dunlop (Con) - 07855 395117 / beverley.dunlop@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Michael Everingham (Independent) - 0794 115 2242 / michael.everingham@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Anne Filer (Con) - 01202 399205 / anne.filer@bournemouth.gov.uk; mayor@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Michael Filer (Con) - michael.filer@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Barry Goldbart (Con) - 07734 211750 / barry.goldbart@bournemouth.gov.uk


Cllr Nicola Greene (Con) - 07961 936387 / nicola.greene@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Michael Griffiths (Con) - 07815 817222 / michael.griffiths@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Ben Grower (Labour) - 07714 344635 / ben.grower@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Paul Hughes (Con) - 07732 169122 / paul.hughes@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr David Kelsey (Con) - 07816 417675 / david.kelsey@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Nick King (Con) - 07771727402 / nick.king@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Ian Lancashire (Con) - ian.lancashire@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Robert Lawton (Con) - 07974 215933 / robert.lawton@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Sue Levell (Lib Dem) - Sue.Levell@Bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Pat Lewis (Lib Dem) - 07742 900717 / pat.lewis@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Stephen Macloughlin (Con) - 01202 513229 / stephen.macloughlin@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Jane Montrose (Con) - 07843 062222 / jane.montrose@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Andrew Morgan (Con) - andrew.morgan@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Ian Newport (Con) - 07971 602296 / ian.newport@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Lisa Northover (Lib Dem) - 07515355982 / lisa.northover@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Lynda Price (Con) - lynda.price@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Basil Ratcliffe (Con) - basil.ratcliffe@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Anne Rey (Independent) - 07973 814382 / anne.rey@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Christopher Rochester (Con) - christopher.rochester@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Allister Russell (Con) - allister.russell@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr David Shaw (Con) - 07951 511287 / david.shaw@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Claire Smith (Lib Dem) - Claire.smith@Bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr David Smith (Con) - 07832 186424 / david.smith@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Richard Smith (Lib Dem) - 0780 8227276 / richard.smith@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Philip Stanley-Watts (Con) - philip.stanley-watts@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Ted Taylor (Labour) - ted.taylor@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr John Trickett (Con) - 07910 011239 / john.trickett@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Christopher Wakefield (Con) - 07775 677162 / christopher.wakefield@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Michael Weinhonig (Con) - 07877 430667 / michael.weinhonig@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Roger West (Lib Dem) - roger.west@bournemouth.gov.uk
Cllr Ronald Whittaker (Independent) - ronald.whittaker@bournemouth.gov.uk


This is a test of our grassroots campaigns.  If we make enough calls to Bournemouth’s councillors and show the strength of feeling against this incredibly high pay deal at the taxpayer’s expense, we can show other councils that we won’t tolerate unjust increases elsewhere.  Please take just 5 minutes to make that call or send that email that could make all the difference.  Do let us know how many calls you’ve made and blind copy me (tim.aker@taxpayersalliance.com) into the emails you send.  The activist who lobbies the most will get a free copy of ‘How to label a goat’ by Ross Clark as a way to thank you for your dedication. 


Finally, pass on this blog to anyone interested who might want to get involved in our grassroots campaign for lower taxes.  This is your campaign, it's time we made our voice heard! 

Latest Blogs:

TaxPayers' Alliance Icon

The sugar tax and the public finances

6:00 AM 05, Dec 2016 Harry Fairhead

TaxPayers' Alliance Icon

Working for the taxman

6:00 AM 26, Nov 2016 Harry Fairhead

TaxPayers' Alliance Icon

Further thoughts on the Autumn Statement

4:56 PM 24, Nov 2016 James Price

TaxPayers' Alliance Icon

Have we had too much austerity?

10:57 AM 23, Nov 2016 Alex Wild