NHS Clinical Excellence Awards

March 03, 2016 9:52 AM

Distinction awards have long been a component of NHS remuneration, but the current system for consultants, Clinical Excellence Awards, was introduced in 2003. Awards are to recognise NHS consultants and academic GPs who perform “over and above the standard expected of their role”

There are 12 levels of Clinical Excellence Award, with the highest three levels assessed nationally and the remainder “Employer Based.” The value of the awards range from £2,957 (level one) to £75,796 (platinum/level 12).

As of July 2015, there were 17,2132 award holders in England from a consultant population of 40,443 meaning 43 per cent of consultants held an award.

This research compares the number and level of awards made to consultants employed by trusts given “outstanding” and “good” ratings by the Care Quality Commission in 2014 with the number and level of awards given to consultants at trusts deemed “inadequate”.

Read the full research here

Latest Blogs:

Vice chancellors' vices

2:13 PM 27, Jul 2017 Duncan Simpson

Euston Station Action Day

11:18 AM 26, Jul 2017 Shahmir Sanni

It's not more money that the NHS needs...

1:22 PM 25, Jul 2017 Ben Ramanauskas

Guildford Action Day

10:44 AM 24, Jul 2017 Shahmir Sanni

BBC Pay Day Dismay

3:58 PM 19, Jul 2017 Katherine Harvey