Poole Council spies on a family for three weeks

April 11, 2008 10:18 AM

BigbrotherIn May I will have been at the TPA for a year.  In that year, I have not seen anything as disgraceful as in today’s Daily Mail.  Poole Council used legislation, written and sold to us on the idea it would help track terrorists, to spy on a family they suspected of living outside a school catchment area. 


The Regulation of Investigative Powers Act 2000 was introduced on the grounds that it would boost national security.  Poole Council, being a creative sort, went well over their remit by using the powers to snoop on families.  They monitored this unnamed family for three weeks, with intentions to stop them sending their children to a good school if they lived outside the catchment area. 


In an almost comical scene, the Mail describes how council officers wrote reports as if they were in a cheap Spooks rip-off.  On your buck, council hatchetmen kept detailed notes, going as far as to record when the lights were on in the family home.  To add insult to injury, we don’t even know how long Poole Council will keep the family’s information and what they will use it for. 


This time it was Poole Council spying on people to see they send their children to the ‘right’ school.  What will they use it on next?  But clearly this is a worrying trend.  East Hampshire Council announced this week they will be phoning people who leave ‘too much’ rubbish outside to ask them why, what are they throwing away, etc.  Basildon Council sent bureaucrats up and down streets to go through people’s rubbish to see if any recyclable goods were being thrown away.  Inch by inch these Town Hall bureaucrats are invading our private lives - and we're paying for it year after year in ever-increasing Council Tax. 


Someone has to carry the can for this gross invasion of privacy.  Please contact Poole’s Councillors to ask them to investigate this obscene breach of privacy.  Here are the contact details:


Cllr Peter Adams - p.adams@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Jeff Allen - jeff.allen@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Elaine Atkinson - p.gill@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Michael Brooke - m.brooke@poole.gov.uk
Cllr David Brown - d.brown@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Chris Bulteel - c.bulteel@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Les Buden - l.burden@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Judy Butt - j.butt@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Graham Chandler - g.chandler@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Brian Clements - b.clements@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Donald Collier - d.collier@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Graham Curtis - g.curtis@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Carole Deas - c.deas@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Xena Dion - x.dion@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Philip Eades - p.eades@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Carol Evans - c.evans@poole.gov.uk
Cllr David Gillard - d.gillard@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Roger Gregory - r.gregory@poole.gov.uk
Cllr May Haines - m.haines@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Joyce Lavender - j.lavender@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Brian Leverett - b.leverett@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Daphne Long - d.long@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Peter Maiden - p.maiden@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Daniel Martin - daniel.martin@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Graham Mason - g.mason@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Christopher Matthews - c.matthews@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Charles Meachin - c.meachin@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Guy Montrose - g.montrose@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Sandra Moore - s.moore@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Ron Parker - r.parker@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Michael Plummer - m.plummer@poole.gov.uk
Cllr John Rampton - j.rampton@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Neil Sorton - n.sorton@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Ann Stribley - a.stribley@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Tony Trent - t.trent@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Janet Walton - j.walton@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Mike White - mike.white@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Michael Wilkins - m.wilkins@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Graham Wilson - g.wilson@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Lindsay Wilson - lindsay.wilson@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Tony Woodcock - t.woodcock@poole.gov.uk


Do please contact these councillors and ask them who is responsible for issuing the orders that sent council bureaucrats to spy on people.  Ask them how many times since 2000 the RIPA has been used to spy on people.  It’s also worthwhile that you ask your council whether they have been spying on you like Poole Council has. 


Finally, as a philosophical note, this debacle reminded me of this famous quote from Proudhon:

“"To be GOVERNED is to be watched, inspected, spied upon, directed, law-driven, numbered, regulated, enrolled, indoctrinated, preached at, controlled, checked, estimated, valued, censured, commanded, by creatures who have neither the right nor the wisdom nor the virtue to do so. To be GOVERNED is to be at every operation, at every transaction noted, registered, counted, taxed, stamped, measured, numbered, assessed, licensed, authorized, admonished, prevented, forbidden, reformed, corrected, punished. It is, under pretext of public utility, and in the name of the general interest, to be placed under contribution, drilled, fleeced, exploited, monopolized, extorted from, squeezed, hoaxed, robbed; then, at the slightest resistance, the first word of complaint, to be repressed, fined, vilified, harassed, hunted down, abused, clubbed, disarmed, bound, choked, imprisoned, judged, condemned, shot, deported, sacrificed, sold, betrayed; and to crown all, mocked, ridiculed, derided, outraged, dishonored. That is government; that is its justice; that is its morality."
- P. J. Proudhon, General Idea of Revolution in the Nineteenth Century

I'm starting to think he had a point...

BigbrotherIn May I will have been at the TPA for a year.  In that year, I have not seen anything as disgraceful as in today’s Daily Mail.  Poole Council used legislation, written and sold to us on the idea it would help track terrorists, to spy on a family they suspected of living outside a school catchment area. 


The Regulation of Investigative Powers Act 2000 was introduced on the grounds that it would boost national security.  Poole Council, being a creative sort, went well over their remit by using the powers to snoop on families.  They monitored this unnamed family for three weeks, with intentions to stop them sending their children to a good school if they lived outside the catchment area. 


In an almost comical scene, the Mail describes how council officers wrote reports as if they were in a cheap Spooks rip-off.  On your buck, council hatchetmen kept detailed notes, going as far as to record when the lights were on in the family home.  To add insult to injury, we don’t even know how long Poole Council will keep the family’s information and what they will use it for. 


This time it was Poole Council spying on people to see they send their children to the ‘right’ school.  What will they use it on next?  But clearly this is a worrying trend.  East Hampshire Council announced this week they will be phoning people who leave ‘too much’ rubbish outside to ask them why, what are they throwing away, etc.  Basildon Council sent bureaucrats up and down streets to go through people’s rubbish to see if any recyclable goods were being thrown away.  Inch by inch these Town Hall bureaucrats are invading our private lives - and we're paying for it year after year in ever-increasing Council Tax. 


Someone has to carry the can for this gross invasion of privacy.  Please contact Poole’s Councillors to ask them to investigate this obscene breach of privacy.  Here are the contact details:


Cllr Peter Adams - p.adams@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Jeff Allen - jeff.allen@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Elaine Atkinson - p.gill@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Michael Brooke - m.brooke@poole.gov.uk
Cllr David Brown - d.brown@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Chris Bulteel - c.bulteel@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Les Buden - l.burden@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Judy Butt - j.butt@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Graham Chandler - g.chandler@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Brian Clements - b.clements@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Donald Collier - d.collier@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Graham Curtis - g.curtis@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Carole Deas - c.deas@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Xena Dion - x.dion@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Philip Eades - p.eades@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Carol Evans - c.evans@poole.gov.uk
Cllr David Gillard - d.gillard@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Roger Gregory - r.gregory@poole.gov.uk
Cllr May Haines - m.haines@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Joyce Lavender - j.lavender@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Brian Leverett - b.leverett@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Daphne Long - d.long@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Peter Maiden - p.maiden@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Daniel Martin - daniel.martin@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Graham Mason - g.mason@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Christopher Matthews - c.matthews@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Charles Meachin - c.meachin@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Guy Montrose - g.montrose@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Sandra Moore - s.moore@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Ron Parker - r.parker@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Michael Plummer - m.plummer@poole.gov.uk
Cllr John Rampton - j.rampton@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Neil Sorton - n.sorton@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Ann Stribley - a.stribley@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Tony Trent - t.trent@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Janet Walton - j.walton@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Mike White - mike.white@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Michael Wilkins - m.wilkins@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Graham Wilson - g.wilson@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Lindsay Wilson - lindsay.wilson@poole.gov.uk
Cllr Tony Woodcock - t.woodcock@poole.gov.uk


Do please contact these councillors and ask them who is responsible for issuing the orders that sent council bureaucrats to spy on people.  Ask them how many times since 2000 the RIPA has been used to spy on people.  It’s also worthwhile that you ask your council whether they have been spying on you like Poole Council has. 


Finally, as a philosophical note, this debacle reminded me of this famous quote from Proudhon:

“"To be GOVERNED is to be watched, inspected, spied upon, directed, law-driven, numbered, regulated, enrolled, indoctrinated, preached at, controlled, checked, estimated, valued, censured, commanded, by creatures who have neither the right nor the wisdom nor the virtue to do so. To be GOVERNED is to be at every operation, at every transaction noted, registered, counted, taxed, stamped, measured, numbered, assessed, licensed, authorized, admonished, prevented, forbidden, reformed, corrected, punished. It is, under pretext of public utility, and in the name of the general interest, to be placed under contribution, drilled, fleeced, exploited, monopolized, extorted from, squeezed, hoaxed, robbed; then, at the slightest resistance, the first word of complaint, to be repressed, fined, vilified, harassed, hunted down, abused, clubbed, disarmed, bound, choked, imprisoned, judged, condemned, shot, deported, sacrificed, sold, betrayed; and to crown all, mocked, ridiculed, derided, outraged, dishonored. That is government; that is its justice; that is its morality."
- P. J. Proudhon, General Idea of Revolution in the Nineteenth Century

I'm starting to think he had a point...

Latest Blogs: