Sutton Council to increase tax and hike executive officer pay by 11%

March 13, 2008 2:25 PM

Eye …unless we can stop them!


Sutton Council’s cabinet approved on Monday a plan to increase council tax and pay council fat cat officers £10,000 more – an increase of 11%, taking their pay to well above £100,000 a year.  To put it in perspective, the cost of the salary awards would pay for garden waste to be collected from 11,000 homes for a year.


So we have to get lobbying.  Similar Bournemouth, Sutton Council wants to tax people more to inflate council officers’ pay.  Unlike Bournemouth Council, however, Sutton Council is Lib Dem controlled.  Bournemouth Lib Dems came out against the Tory package to pay councillors 17% more and give the Cabinet a whopping 32% pay increase.  We can use this against Sutton’s councillors to pressure them into backing down on these outrageous pay deals for officers.  As you may remember, Harlow Council backed down on their pay deal for Town Hall fat cats, so let’s lobby Sutton Council to seek taxpayer value for money, lower taxes in general and to get your money put to frontline services and not bloated salaries for the Town Hall elite.


Points you can make include:
 Council Tax has doubled in ten years;
 Sutton Council spends more than £1million on its own publicity – it would get better publicity by withdrawing this pay deal for executive officers and producing real tax cuts for residents;
 As taxpayers, we expect our money to go to frontline services.  Why are directors getting higher pay when it’s the frontline staff who deliver the service we expect our taxes to fund;
 Sutton Council’s 2008 Budget will end free garden collections and increase the Band D tax bill by £42.  Where is our value for money?


We need only 6 Lib Dem Councillors to switch their votes and side with the opposition against this.  It’s a more marginal council than Bournemouth, so with some hard lobbying we can secure a result for Sutton’s taxpayers.  Below are the contact details for all Sutton Borough Councillors.  Please contact them and lobby them to oppose this pay deal that simply doesn’t deliver taxpayer value for money.


Cllr Margaret Ali (LD) - margaretali99@gmail.com / 07723 024 750
Cllr Sheila Andrews (LD) - 020 8395 3981
Cllr Richard Bailey (LD) - 020 8669 0602
Cllr Shaun Brennan (LD Leader of the Council) - sean.brennan@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5406
Cllr Moira Butt (Con) - moira.butt@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5035
Cllr Richard Butt (Con) - richard.butt@hotmail.com / 07835 288633
Cllr Dave Callaghan (LD) - david.callaghan@sutton.gov.uk / 07711 706514
Cllr Cliff Carter (Con) - cliffcarter1954@yahoo.co.uk / 07742 283746
Cllr Ian Chapman (LD) - ian.chapman@sutton.gov.uk / 07941 316997
Cllr Margaret Court (LD) - mpcourt@hotmail.com / 020 8770 5111
Cllr Tim Crowley (Con) - timcrowley@blueyonder.co.uk / 020 8395 7807
Cllr Ruth Dombey (LD Deputy Leader of the Council) - ruth.dombey@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5044
Cllr John Drage (LD) - john.drage@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5101
Cllr Christopher Dunlop (Con) - Cllr_Dunlop@nonsuchward.org.uk / 020 8643 9080
Cllr Terry Faulds (Con) - terryfaulds@gmail.com / 07803 587122
Cllr Peter Geiringer (Con) - 020 8647 7681
Cllr Lyn Gleeson (LD) - 020 8770 4462
Cllr Bruce Clithero (LD) - bruce.glithero@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5028
Cllr Stuart Gordon-Bullock (Con) - 07973 364803
Cllr Colin Hall (LD) - colin.hall@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5411
Cllr Joan Hartfield (LD) - 020 8395 8427
Cllr Eric Howell (Con) - erichowell37@hotmail.co.uk / 020 8770 5109
Cllr Brendan Hudson (LD) - brendanhudson@btinternet.com / 020 8770 5220
Cllr Kirsty Jerome (LD) - kirsty.jerome@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8296 9829
Cllr Paddy Kane (LD) - 020 8770 5046
Cllr John Kennedy (Con) - john.kennedy@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5102
Cllr John Keys (LD) - john_keys@blueyonder.co.uk / 07962 636476
Cllr John Leach (LD) - 020 8770 5037
Cllr Abigail Lock (LD) - abigail.lock@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5045
Cllr Janet Lowne (LD) - 020 8642 3471
Cllr Jane McCoy (LD) - jayne.mccoy@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5031
Cllr Paul Newman (Con) - paul.newman@sutton.gov.uk / 0208 7703630
Cllr David Pickles (UK Independence Party) - dreadedpickles@yahoo.com / 020 8642 1629
Cllr Pamela Picknett (Con) - 020 8770 5040
Cllr Hamish Pollock (LD) - hamish.pollock@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8647 8202
Cllr Jonathan Pritchard (Con) - jonathan@cheamlive.com / 0870 7605 838
Cllr Roger Roberts (LD) - roger.roberts@sutton.gov.uk / 07803 236467
Cllr Barry Russell (Con) - barry.russell@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8254 9234
Cllr Paul Scully (Con) - council@scully.org.uk / 07967 651 670
Cllr Helen Senior (Con) - cllrhelensenior@btinternet.com / 020 8786 9038
Cllr Tony Shields (Con) - tonyshields@blueyonder.co.uk / 07951 056660
Cllr Jenny Clark (LD) - 07786 056034
Cllr Colin Stears (LD) - 020 8770 5268
Cllr Sue Stears (LD) - 020 8770 6382
Cllr David Theobald (Independent) - david.theobald@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5030
Cllr Roger Thistle (LD) - 020 8770 5033
Cllr Graham Tope (LD) - graham.tope@sutton.gov.uk / 020 7983 4413
Cllr Simon Wales (LD) - simon.wales@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5104
Cllr Mfanwy Wallace (LD) - myfanwy.wallace@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8643 6568
Cllr Peter Wallis (Con) - peter.wallis@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5996
Cllr Graham Witham (Con) - graham.whitham@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5036
Cllr Marion Williams (Con) - councillormarionwilliams@yahoo.co.uk / 020 8770 5661
Cllr Tony Brett Young (LD) - tony.brettyoung@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5103
Cllr Misdaq Zaidi (Con) - councillorzaidi@zaidiandco.co.uk / 07957 203884

Eye …unless we can stop them!


Sutton Council’s cabinet approved on Monday a plan to increase council tax and pay council fat cat officers £10,000 more – an increase of 11%, taking their pay to well above £100,000 a year.  To put it in perspective, the cost of the salary awards would pay for garden waste to be collected from 11,000 homes for a year.


So we have to get lobbying.  Similar Bournemouth, Sutton Council wants to tax people more to inflate council officers’ pay.  Unlike Bournemouth Council, however, Sutton Council is Lib Dem controlled.  Bournemouth Lib Dems came out against the Tory package to pay councillors 17% more and give the Cabinet a whopping 32% pay increase.  We can use this against Sutton’s councillors to pressure them into backing down on these outrageous pay deals for officers.  As you may remember, Harlow Council backed down on their pay deal for Town Hall fat cats, so let’s lobby Sutton Council to seek taxpayer value for money, lower taxes in general and to get your money put to frontline services and not bloated salaries for the Town Hall elite.


Points you can make include:
 Council Tax has doubled in ten years;
 Sutton Council spends more than £1million on its own publicity – it would get better publicity by withdrawing this pay deal for executive officers and producing real tax cuts for residents;
 As taxpayers, we expect our money to go to frontline services.  Why are directors getting higher pay when it’s the frontline staff who deliver the service we expect our taxes to fund;
 Sutton Council’s 2008 Budget will end free garden collections and increase the Band D tax bill by £42.  Where is our value for money?


We need only 6 Lib Dem Councillors to switch their votes and side with the opposition against this.  It’s a more marginal council than Bournemouth, so with some hard lobbying we can secure a result for Sutton’s taxpayers.  Below are the contact details for all Sutton Borough Councillors.  Please contact them and lobby them to oppose this pay deal that simply doesn’t deliver taxpayer value for money.


Cllr Margaret Ali (LD) - margaretali99@gmail.com / 07723 024 750
Cllr Sheila Andrews (LD) - 020 8395 3981
Cllr Richard Bailey (LD) - 020 8669 0602
Cllr Shaun Brennan (LD Leader of the Council) - sean.brennan@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5406
Cllr Moira Butt (Con) - moira.butt@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5035
Cllr Richard Butt (Con) - richard.butt@hotmail.com / 07835 288633
Cllr Dave Callaghan (LD) - david.callaghan@sutton.gov.uk / 07711 706514
Cllr Cliff Carter (Con) - cliffcarter1954@yahoo.co.uk / 07742 283746
Cllr Ian Chapman (LD) - ian.chapman@sutton.gov.uk / 07941 316997
Cllr Margaret Court (LD) - mpcourt@hotmail.com / 020 8770 5111
Cllr Tim Crowley (Con) - timcrowley@blueyonder.co.uk / 020 8395 7807
Cllr Ruth Dombey (LD Deputy Leader of the Council) - ruth.dombey@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5044
Cllr John Drage (LD) - john.drage@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5101
Cllr Christopher Dunlop (Con) - Cllr_Dunlop@nonsuchward.org.uk / 020 8643 9080
Cllr Terry Faulds (Con) - terryfaulds@gmail.com / 07803 587122
Cllr Peter Geiringer (Con) - 020 8647 7681
Cllr Lyn Gleeson (LD) - 020 8770 4462
Cllr Bruce Clithero (LD) - bruce.glithero@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5028
Cllr Stuart Gordon-Bullock (Con) - 07973 364803
Cllr Colin Hall (LD) - colin.hall@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5411
Cllr Joan Hartfield (LD) - 020 8395 8427
Cllr Eric Howell (Con) - erichowell37@hotmail.co.uk / 020 8770 5109
Cllr Brendan Hudson (LD) - brendanhudson@btinternet.com / 020 8770 5220
Cllr Kirsty Jerome (LD) - kirsty.jerome@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8296 9829
Cllr Paddy Kane (LD) - 020 8770 5046
Cllr John Kennedy (Con) - john.kennedy@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5102
Cllr John Keys (LD) - john_keys@blueyonder.co.uk / 07962 636476
Cllr John Leach (LD) - 020 8770 5037
Cllr Abigail Lock (LD) - abigail.lock@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5045
Cllr Janet Lowne (LD) - 020 8642 3471
Cllr Jane McCoy (LD) - jayne.mccoy@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5031
Cllr Paul Newman (Con) - paul.newman@sutton.gov.uk / 0208 7703630
Cllr David Pickles (UK Independence Party) - dreadedpickles@yahoo.com / 020 8642 1629
Cllr Pamela Picknett (Con) - 020 8770 5040
Cllr Hamish Pollock (LD) - hamish.pollock@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8647 8202
Cllr Jonathan Pritchard (Con) - jonathan@cheamlive.com / 0870 7605 838
Cllr Roger Roberts (LD) - roger.roberts@sutton.gov.uk / 07803 236467
Cllr Barry Russell (Con) - barry.russell@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8254 9234
Cllr Paul Scully (Con) - council@scully.org.uk / 07967 651 670
Cllr Helen Senior (Con) - cllrhelensenior@btinternet.com / 020 8786 9038
Cllr Tony Shields (Con) - tonyshields@blueyonder.co.uk / 07951 056660
Cllr Jenny Clark (LD) - 07786 056034
Cllr Colin Stears (LD) - 020 8770 5268
Cllr Sue Stears (LD) - 020 8770 6382
Cllr David Theobald (Independent) - david.theobald@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5030
Cllr Roger Thistle (LD) - 020 8770 5033
Cllr Graham Tope (LD) - graham.tope@sutton.gov.uk / 020 7983 4413
Cllr Simon Wales (LD) - simon.wales@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5104
Cllr Mfanwy Wallace (LD) - myfanwy.wallace@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8643 6568
Cllr Peter Wallis (Con) - peter.wallis@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5996
Cllr Graham Witham (Con) - graham.whitham@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5036
Cllr Marion Williams (Con) - councillormarionwilliams@yahoo.co.uk / 020 8770 5661
Cllr Tony Brett Young (LD) - tony.brettyoung@sutton.gov.uk / 020 8770 5103
Cllr Misdaq Zaidi (Con) - councillorzaidi@zaidiandco.co.uk / 07957 203884

Latest Blogs: